Saturday, January 26, 2019

The Selection by Keira Cass [Book Review]



The Selection 
by Keira Cass 
338 pages 
Release Date: April 24, 2012
Format: Ebook 

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.
For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.
Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is a series is one that has been on my TBR pile seriously for six years. I saw it everywhere in the book world and it had been suggested to me countless times. 
For whatever reason, i avoided reading it and getting invested in the series. At least for me, when there is too much hype I get turned off. However, that being said... I wish I'd read this so much sooner! 
The Selection begins with America Singer (she sings. No, really...) and as ridiculous as her name is, I did come to find myself rooting for America and overlooking these things rather quickly. 
While this book has the typical love triangle and parts of it are a tad bit unbelievable (like Aspen ending up at the castle as well AND you would think Royalty would have better security...) I did enjoy it and find it a very enveloping read.

I love when a book hooks me, and ultimately the "hook" factor is what really sets books apart for me. I was hooked while reading The Selection and proceeded to read the next two in the series within three days.

I loved the "Bachelor-esque" aspect of this book and really enjoyed the relationships created between the contestants. I felt Cass did a wonderful job at highlighting both sides of these relationships, on the one hand they are all each other has -- but they're also competing.

I felt at times like Maxon was a bit too forgiving to America, but this was the only occassion I had issues suspending belief.

I listened to these via Audiobook thanks to my beloved Scribd subscription (Scribd is a total game changer).

While these are not life altering books, I do find them to be very cute and engrossing. Definitely worth a read!



Have you read The Selection series? What did you think? Comment below and let me know! :) 


1 comments:

視訊聊天室 said...

免費一對多視訊聊天
激情視訊辣妹美女
a片情報站
a片寫真
免費視訊
免費a片下載無碼
情人視訊聊天室
色a片
a片百科全書

Post a Comment

 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs all images from the In the Castle and Story Book Castle by Lorie Davison